eu banner

European Elections of Summer 2024


The 6th of June 2024 will see the opening of the ballots in the Netherlands for the 10th legislative European Parliament Elections. The elections, held every five years, will be deciding on the ruling parties and the distribution of seats between 720 Members of Parliament representing Europeans across 27 member states.

How to vote in the Netherlands as a non-Dutch EU citizen:

To be able to vote in the Netherlands for the European elections as a non-Dutch resident, you must first be registered to vote. To do this, send the completed Y32 registration form and a copy of your valid ID to the Municipality of The Hague. It is important to note that these documents must have been received by the municipality by Tuesday 23rd April 2024. You can send your documents by email or by post. Find more details on this page.

Remember there are conditions for you to meet to be able to register to vote, these conditions are:

  • You are a citizen of an EU country.
  • You are 18 years or older on 6 June 2024.
  • You live in The Hague or one of the surrounding regions, Delft, Rijswijk, Leidschendam-Voorburg.
  • You have not lost the right to vote.

Good to know: if you have previously registered as a voter for the European elections in the Netherlands, you do not need to register again.

Once registered, you just need to bring your valid ID, driver’s licence or passport and your voting pass, which will be sent to you by post once you’ve registered, on the 6th of June 2024 to one of the polling stations across The Hague. You will have received more information on these polling station’s addresses 4 days before the elections by post.

Did you know:

  • The Netherlands uses a preferential voting method over closed lists.
  • The European Parliament is the only international association in the world that is directly elected by its voters.
  • The first elected president of the European Parliament was a woman – Simone Veil, from the Liberals and Democrats party.

Who you can vote for:

If you’re wondering about the different candidates stepping up to be part of the elections, the official parties will be posted after the deadline to register has passed. 

You can find more information on the EU Elections website.